Charlotte Pemberton – ASM Program

Charlotte-Bio

Charlotte Pemberton

Wood Badge Course / Critter: SR677 – Bear

Scout Unit: Troop 706, Crew 736

District: Cardinal District

Years in Scouting: 14

Highest Rank: N/A

Current Registered Position:

  • ASM Troop 706
  • Crew Associate Advisor C736
  • Cardinal District Training chair

Other Positions in Scouting and for how long?  

  • Commitee Chair for T789 (3 years)
  • Commissioner (5 years)
  • ASM for T706 (8 years)
  • Cardinal District Committee (7 years)
  • Advisor for Crew 700 (7 years)

Occupation?  Incentive Compensation Manager

Who’s in Your Family?  my patient and generous husband Leigh; my daughter Emma (venturing silver), her husband Theron and son Cullen (7 months, future Cub); my son Harrison (eagle) and his wife Kaylah; my youngest son Edward (eagle)

What is your favorite Scouting event?

  • Attending my son’s eagle ceremonies!
  • Okpik at Northern Tier
  • Jamboree
  • Philmont
  • Sea Kayaking at Pamlico Sea Base in NC

What do you most enjoy doing?  Besides scouting, and in no particular order, traveling within the US and to foreign countries, reading, visiting my daughter’s family (including a grandson!) and son-in-law in South Carolina, being at the beach, celebrating Christmas and holidays with my family!

What is your best Scouting memory?  Watching my sons grow up and mature through the scouting program to become confident young men (my daughter was always ahead of the game!)

If you had unlimited time and resources, what would you choose to do?  Reclaim all the wild places like the rain forests and coral reefs, and preserve them from further destruction

What are the most important things in your life?   God/my faith; Family; Good homemade food like chocolate desserts and spoon bread

What do most people not know about you?  Don’t have any secrets – I’m pretty much an open book and tend to wear my heart on my sleeve

What are your favorite movies? Chocolat, It’s a Wonderful Life, The Christmas Story, almost any historical based costume drama or feel good story

What is your favorite food or meal?  A fried seafood platter with an extra crab cake and oysters, and my mom’s chocolate pie with a glass of milk from our farm on the side

What is your favorite book as an adult?  historical biographies and mystery novels – old fashioned who dunits!  I also love a good cookbook!

What is something about you that would surprise other people?

What is your favorite childhood memory?  The beach trips we made every year to Hatteras (it was our only vacation).  Since all six of us traveled in a four door sedan with a week’s worth of groceries, we didn’t take any toys and had to entertain ourselves with the sand and sea shells and the surf.

What is your favorite music and bands?   Beach Boys, Celtic Woman, Rod Stewart (particularly his remake of classics from Sinatra and that era), Kate Campbell (a Southern regional songwriter), classic rock from the 70’s and early 80’s when I was a little younger, and classic Christmas songs (I sing them in the car all year)

What are your hobbies?  Reading (mysteries, sci fi/fantasy, historical novels and biographies), collecting Christmas ornaments from our trips (can never have too many), and collecting antiques like tin chocolate molds and furniture (so my kids will roll their eyes and say “whatever am I ever going to do with THIS?” after I die)