Heather Mulvihill – ASPL

Heather Mulvihill

Heather Mulvihill

Wood Badge Course / Critter: S7-602-11 / Fox!

District: Huguenot Trail

Years in Scouting: 12

Current Registered Position: District Commissioner

Other Positions in Scouting and for how long?

  • Pack Treasurer P1861: 2004-2006
  • Pack Trainer P184
  • American Community School-Cobham, England, Mayflower District
  • TransAtlantic Council: Aug.2006-Dec. 2007
  • WEBS asst. leader P184, Mayflower District: Aug. 2006-Dec.2007
  • Pack Trainer P1861: Dec. 2007-2011
  • Merit Badge Counselor Coordinator T1829: June 2008-Jan. 2011
  • Merit Badge Counselor T1829: June 2008-present
  • Huguenot Trail District Trainer: March 2008-present
  • Cub Scout Round Table Comm.: June 2008-2013
  • Unit Advisor Pack 1863: Sept. 2010—present
  • WEBS I & II leader P1829: Jan. 2010-Mar.2011
  • Unit Commissioner: June 2011—present
  • Council Trainer: Jan. 2012—present
  • PowWow Director-2012,2013
  • Woodbadge Troop Guide:2013
  • Huguenot Trail District Commissioner: Current

Occupation?  I have been the resident Domestic Goddess at Chez Mulvihill for 23 years and currently work summers at Cub Adventure camp as the Program Director.

Who’s in Your Family? 

  • Husband William (Eagle Scout) married for 23 years
  • James-22 (Eagle Scout) attends ECU (son)
  • Matthew-19 (Eagle Scout) attends CNU (son)

What is your favorite Scouting event? I enjoy Fall Camporees because it is wonderful to see young men working together and having fun—the weather doesn’t hurt either!  Eagle COH or Cub crossover are also a favorite because it is a marvelous way to show what can be accomplished at a young age; it shows commitment.

What do you most enjoy doing? I enjoy travelling and gardening, horseback riding, canoeing .

What is your best Scouting memory? Meeting the Duke of Kent (UK’s royal scouting patron) while trying to save a local scout campground while living in England. Attending World Jambo. 2011 in Sweden. Going to Philmont on my own taught me to be more self-sufficient, even at my age, and gave me a huge boost of self-confidence.

If you had unlimited time and resources, what would you choose to do? Easy! Travel, volunteer more.

What are the most important things in your life? Family, Friends, Faith.

What do most people not know about you?  I was born in Nurnberg, Germany and spoke German till I was 3 yrs . old. Then my parents moved us back to the U.S. and forced me to speak English. I can’t speak any German now. I also love British History and have given talks to local schools on the Tudors and life in the Middle Ages and Renaissance.

What are your favorite movies?  Pride & Prejudice (the good one with Colin Firth), Notting Hill, The Wedding Date—Girly chick-flicks and period dramas.

What is your favorite food or meal?  I will eat just about anything! Whatever I’m eating at that particular moment—it’s my favorite! But to narrow it down,….hhmmm… chocolate, shrimp, sushi, pasta, but not all wrapped up together.

What is your favorite book as an adult?  As a youth?  As an adult, anything by Jane Austen or Charles Dickens and old English mysteries. As a youth, “The Secret Garden”.

What is something about you that would surprise other people?  I can actually be very shy.

What is your favorite childhood memory? Insisting my brother’s GI Joe action figure should go on a date with my Malibu Barbie and the look of disgust that appeared on my brother’s face. I also enjoyed playing in the creak behind our house. I loved to catch crayfish and frogs! I could spend hours in the creek.

What is your favorite music and bands? Rock, Pop, Country. The Killers, Train, Maroon 5, Pitbull, P!nk, Keith Urban, Sugarland, Bon Jovi, Toby Keith.

What are your hobbies? Travelling, sewing, gardening, painting, reading, Geology, Geography (I have a BA degree in Geography from George Mason) studying British History.

Geez, anything else?  I absolutely adore Tinkerbell and ladybugs, as well as foxes of course!