Jesús Portillo – Troop Guide

Jesus Portillo

Jesús Portillo

Wood Badge Patrol / Critter:  Antelope

Scout Unit: Cub Scout Pack 836

District: Huguenot Trail

Years in Scouting: 4

Highest Rank: Cubmaster

Current Registered Position: Cubmaster

Other Positions in Scouting and for how long?

Occupation?   Moving bits and bytes for the Federal Reserve Bank

Who’s in Your Family? 

  • My Wife Tracey
  • My Son Cristopher
  • My Daughters
    • Jennifer
    • Erika
  • My sleepy, snoring ½ beagle Rocco (“I shall call him ‘mini-me’ ”)

What is your favorite Scouting event?  Camping.  The kindness of people when little issues arise (“wait…we needed to bring tent poles for our tent?”) is something that makes me feel that we are all in this together

What do you most enjoy doing?  Reading and teaching.

What is your best Scouting memory?  Fall Campout 2014.  I was at a conference in Philadelphia.  I left the conference at noon, changed into scout clothes from a business suit at a rest stop during the drive, got lost and finally found the campground at 8 PM.  Almost gave up…  When I arrived, the Scouts were all so happy to see me. I had no idea my presence would have such an impact.  I could feel any road weariness leave me immediately, being reminded why I do what I do for my Pack.

If you had unlimited time and resources, what would you choose to do?   I would teach.  I love to lead, to teach and to help others find the person they want to be hidden deep inside of themselves.

What are the most important things in your life? The most important things in my life are my family, my faith and my ability to have an impact on my world.

What do most people not know about you?  My favorite marsupial is the wallaby

What are your favorite movies?  Independence Day and Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (who doesn’t like lasers, fighter jets and Gene Wilder’s singing?).

What is your favorite food or meal? My dream mean would be Steak.  With a side of steak and a steak for dessert.

What is your favorite book as an adult?  As a youth?  As an adult, I am reading a book titled “Lords of the Skies” a history of military aviation; as a child, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl.

What is something about you that would surprise other people?  English was my second Language.  I was raised speaking Spanish, learned English in elementary school, learned German when I was in the U.S. Air Force and can dabble in French.

What is your favorite music and bands?  Classic Rock and 80s!   In my world, very little music was made after 1990.

What are your hobbies? I mentor, coach and read.  If there is anything I can do to teach or to let some of these 51 years of stubbornness and experience help someone find their way, I want to do it!

Geez, anything else?  I encourage everyone to join the Wood badge Alumni Group on LinkedIn.  It is a terrific way to share ideas and celebrate the experience that is Wood Badge.