John Blackmore – ASM Quartermaster

JohnBlackmore

John Blackmore

Wood Badge Course / Critter: Buffalo – SR-917

Scout Unit: Troop 777

District: Cardinal District

Years in Scouting: 26 years including time as a youth.  14 years as an adult leader

Highest Rank: Eagle with Bronze Palm

Current Registered Position:

  • Assistant Scoutmaster
  • Life to Eagle Coach
  • MB Counselor

Other Positions in Scouting and for how long?

  •             Scoutmaster – 3 years
  •             Cardinal District Advancement Committee- Eagle Projects and EBOR’s – 4 years
  •             Merit Badge Counselor – 10 years

 Occupation:  GIS Coordinator, Luck Stone Corporation

Who’s in Your Family?  Father, Two older sisters, and my black Lab Scout

What is your favorite Scouting event? SeaBase as a youth  once and I was fortunate enough to return as an Adult Leader; we did the Out Island Adventure both times where we stayed on a deserted island in the Florida Keys!

What do you most enjoy doing?  Being outside… anything outside!  Hunting, Shooting, hiking, etc.

What is your best Scouting memory?  My first summer camp as a boy… Camp Daniel Boone in 1994…  I was hooked!

If you had unlimited time and resources, what would you choose to do? Build custom cars, trucks, and motorcycles… I have an unquenchable need for speed!

What are the most important things in your life?   God, Family, Friends

What do most people not know about you?   Since I don’t have any kids, my “Scout” has 4 legs and a dark black coat.  He has been known to come camping and even have a scout neckerchief on!

What are your favorite movies?  Movies are hard for me to sit still for that long!!!  When I can’t help it… (airplane) I enjoy action / spy movies.

What is your favorite food or meal?  Ribeye steak cooked on a campfire with corn on the cob, salad, and peach cobbler for dessert.

What is your favorite book as an adult?  As a youth?  Any book I read as a youth I have surely forgotten.  As an adult… I have a shelf of about 30 books that I’ve read the first chapter of!

What is something about you that would surprise other people?  Since I don’t have any kids, my “Scout” has 4 legs and a dark black coat.  He has been known to come camping and even have a BSA neckerchief on!

What is your favorite childhood memory? My family took several road trips to Texas to visit my dad’s family.  We spent so many boring hours in the car with my sisters, and mom and dad trying to downplay how long it was to the next destination.  “Just a Hop-skip-and a jump away!”  One of those trips we visited the National Scouting Museum in Irving, TX.

What is your favorite music and bands?   Classic Rock, 90’s Country, Bluegrass, Avett Brothers, Mumford and Sons, Old Crow Medicine Show, Yonder Mtn String Band

What are your hobbies?  Shooting Sports, Geocaching, hiking, boating, hunting